Thank you for participating in a Penn State continuing education course. If you are an educator holding Pennsylvania certification, credit and noncredit courses that are relevant to your discipline are eligible for Act 48 hours. Please verify course eligibility with your school district prior to taking a course. Credit courses taken on an audit basis are not eligible for Act 48 hours.
You may want to print out this page for reference as you complete the steps necessary to ensure that your Act 48 hours can be reported.
You are responsible for reporting your Act 48 hours to the Pennsylvania Department of Education via the Penn State Registrar's secure Web site. You will need to create a Penn State eAccount for this purpose. To create your eAccount and complete your report, follow these steps:
||Go to the Penn State Registrar's Web site at www.registrar.psu.edu.
||Under Related Information, click to select Act 48—Report Course Work.
||Select Former Student.
Create your eAccount by clicking on the Create Account link and following the prompts. Your eAccount ID and password are your choice; make them meaningful to you as they can be used to report programs that you take at Penn State in the future. Your eAccount information is case-sensitive; be cautious of upper- and lowercase entries. If you have created an eAccount previously to report Penn State Act 48 coursework, enter your eAccount ID and eAccount password and continue with your report.
||When you submit the registration, a pop-up window will ask you to verify the information. Review and click on OK if your information is correct.
||Click on Continue to Act 48 Reporting.
||At the Welcome to the Act 48 Reporting site, select the link on the left that reads Request Act 48 Reporting. This takes you to a screen that lists your completed course(s). Select the course that you want to report and click the Send Course button.
Courses are listed by the university's official course name and course number, not necessarily the course title used conversationally. Courses need to be selected and sent individually. If the course that you want to report doesn't appear, your grade may have not yet been posted in the Penn State Registrar's database. Please allow three to six weeks from the program ending date for this to occur before attempting your report.
Please allow several days from the date that you send your course to the Pennsylvania Department of Education for it to appear in the Professional Education Record Management System (PERMS).
You can monitor PERMS at https://www.perms.ed.state.pa.us/Screens/wfPublicAccess.aspx to confirm that your Act 48 hours have been reported and to verify the accuracy of your report. Any changes must be made within one calendar year of the course ending date.
To document successful course completion, your employer may require an official transcript. Information about transcripts and how to order them can be found on the Penn State Registrar's Web site at www.registrar.psu.edu/transcripts/transcripts.cfm.
Questions about this process? Please e-mail:
Please be sure to include your name, the title of the course you are inquiring about, and your Penn State ID number, if known.